Awakenings fans select their 20 favourite techno tracks


Ahead of the 20th anniversary of one of the world’s largest techno festivals, fans of Awakenings voted for their favourite 20 techno track of all time. With over 16,000 votes for 1000 tracks, fans from 88 countries selected their top tunes.

Unsurprisingly Jeff Mills leads the list with his 2006 classic, “The Bells”, with Ben Klock’s “Subzero” following up in second. The Drumcode label also features heavily on the list, with entries from Enrico Sangiuliano, Sam Paganini, Adam Beyer and Ida Engberg.

To celebrate the 20th Anniversary, Awakenings will be hosting five events between the 13th and 16th of April in the Gashouder in Amsterdam.

Complete Top 20 List here:

1. Jeff Mills – The Bells

2. Ben Klock – Subzero

3. Enrico Sangiuliano – Moon Rocks

4. Sam Paganini – Rave

5. Dj Rolando – Knights of The Jaguar

6. Oxia – Domino

7. Adam Beyer – Teach Me

8. Alan Fitzpatrick – For an Endless Night

9. Adam Beyer – Spacemen

10. Laurent Garnier – Crispy Bacon

11. Dax J – Wir Leben Fur Die Nacht

12. Bjarki – I Wanna Go Bang

13. Laurent Garnier – The Man With The Red Face

14. Green Velvet – Flash

15. Maceo Plex – Conjure Dreams

16. Joey Beltram – Energy Flash

17. Paul Kalkbrenner ft Fritz Kalkbrenner – Sky & Sand

18. Adam Beyer & Ida Engberg – You Know

19. Age of Love – The Age of Love (Watch Out For The Stella Club Mix)

20. Maceo Plex & Gabriel Ananda – Solitary Daze


by Hamish McDougall